Bruno Award Open Call 2020

2020 Bruno Award Open Call


The Israel Institute for Advanced Studies (IIAS) hereby invites all full professors (current or emeriti) at Israeli research institutions to nominate candidates for the Michael Bruno Memorial Award for mid-career scholars.

About the Award

The Michael Bruno Memorial Awards are granted annually to three outstanding mid-career Israeli scholars, working in any field, who have demonstrated an exceptional originality of mind, dedication and ground-breaking impact in their research, and who have managed to influence and re-shape their field of expertise. These awards are the highest recognition of past accomplishments, but they are also a vote of confidence in the laureates’ future achievements and contributions to research and to Israeli academia.

A list of past recipients of the award can be found at this link:

Each Award consists of a $45,000 personal grant for personal use, as well as up to $50,000 grant to be used in pursuit of their research agenda in collaboration with the IIAS. The IIAS Board of Directors is responsible for approving the use of grant money associated with the Award.



Who can nominate Bruno candidates?

The nominator must be a full professor or professor emeritus from any Israeli research institution. Each nominator may nominate only one candidate. No self-nominations will be accepted.

Candidate eligibility

Eligibility is limited to faculty members of Israeli research institutions. Candidates must be under 50 years of age as of February 15, 2020.

Nomination process


The nomination deadline was December 1, 2019.

The nomination form and all attached materials must be in English.


In the online form the nominator is asked to enter the following details:

  1. The candidate’s personal information: full name, date of birth, affiliation.
  2. Short presentation of your reasons for nominating the candidate (maximum 150 words).
  3. Description of your relationship to the candidate, including comments pertaining to any potential conflicts of interest.
  4. A list of the candidate's three most important publications.
  5. For candidates in the Sciences only (and whenever relevant in the Social Sciences) - please indicate the h-index.
  6. A list of 4 international experts in the candidate’s field and their contact information.


In addition to the above, the nominator will provide the following documents:

  1. The candidate’s professional CV and a full list of publications.
  2. A letter written by the nominator recommending the candidate, and stressing the candidate’s impact on his/her research field and unique contributions.
  3. A letter from an additional faculty member in Israel (need not be a full professor but must be from a different academic institution than the nominator).
  4. PDFs of the candidate’s three most important publications (indicated in the online form). If one of this publications is a book, one representative chapter from the book will suffice.

Incomplete applications will not be considered.


The selection process


The selection committee is comprised of the IIAS Board of Directors.

The selection is done in two phases. First, the list of candidates will be narrowed to a shortlist. Second, each candidate on the shortlist will be evaluated with the help of external referees.



December 1, 2019       Deadline for submission of the nomination application

June 30, 2020              Announcement of the 2020 Bruno Award winners

January 2021               The Michael Bruno Memorial Awards Ceremony


Questions may be directed to Ms. Keren Rechnitzer, IIAS Secretary, at