Economic Theory


Advanced Schools present the latest research to young academics, who learn about the most updated advances in their fields from world-class scholars.

The annual Advanced School in Economic Theory explores both the theories and applications of this important field. Each year, a different topic is examined: participants learn about key developments, and gain a sense of the breadth and richness of the field, as well as directions for future research.

The School’s General Director is Nobel laureate Professor Eric Maskin.

General Director


Eric Maskin

General Director - current

Eric Stark Maskin is an American economist and 2007 Nobel laureate recognized with Leonid Hurwicz and Roger Myerson "for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory".

Read More
He also has made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics. He is the Adams University Professor at Harvard University. He was a faculty member at MIT from 1977-1984, Harvard from 1985-2000, and the Institute for Advanced Study from 2000-2011. He rejoined the Harvard faculty in 2012.

Read Less
> See All Directors

Upcoming School

Economics - Upcoming School


The 32nd Advanced School in Economic Theory: International Economics

Read More

June 21-30, 2022


GENERAL DIRECTOR: Eric Maskin, Harvard University



Elchanan Ben-Porat, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Marc Melitz, Harvard University


This summer school will cover recent research at the frontier of international trade and closely related fields. Topics include trade and inequality, trade and innovation, global supply chains, micro-empirical trade patterns and aggregate implications, trade and geography, trade and development, international institutions, political economy of trade and multinationals, electoral consequences of trade and immigration, and quantitative trade policy analysis.



Pol Antras, Harvard University
David Atkin, MIT
Lorenzo Caliendo, Yale School of Management
Paola Conconi, Université Libre de Bruxelles
Elhanan Helpman, Harvard University
Isabelle Mejean, Sciences Po
Marc Melitz, Harvard University
Gianmarco Ottaviano, Bocconi University
Stephen Redding, Princeton University
Robert Staiger, Dartmouth College



Application Form

Reading Materials

Lecture Slides


Read Less
> See All schools in Economic Theory