Economic Theory


Kenneth Arrow

General Director - previous

Read More
Kenneth Arrow (1921–2017) was an American economist, mathematician, writer, and political theorist. He was the joint winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences with John Hicks in 1972.

In economics, he was a major figure in post-World War II neo-classical economic theory. His most significant works are his contributions to social choice theory, notably "Arrow's impossibility theorem", and his work on general equilibrium analysis. He has also provided foundational work in many other areas of economics, including endogenous growth theory and the economics of information.
Prof. Arrow was the General Director of the Jerusalem School in Economic Theory at the IIAS from 1990-2007.

Photo by Linda A. Cicero / Stanford News Service

Read Less

Eric Maskin

General Director - current

Eric Stark Maskin is an American economist and 2007 Nobel laureate recognized with Leonid Hurwicz and Roger Myerson "for having laid the foundations of mechanism design theory".

Read More
He also has made contributions to game theory, contract theory, social choice theory, political economy, and other areas of economics. He is the Adams University Professor at Harvard University. He was a faculty member at MIT from 1977-1984, Harvard from 1985-2000, and the Institute for Advanced Study from 2000-2011. He rejoined the Harvard faculty in 2012.

Read Less

The 30th Jerusalem Advanced School of Economics 2018-2019


Economic Theory Summer School

Read More

Event date: June 22 - July 3, 2019 

General Director: Eric Maskin (Harvard University)

Co-directors: Elchanan Ben-Porath,Codirector (The Hebrew University); Jose Scheinkman (Columbia University)

Finance is the lifeblood of a modern economy. Without it, investment would grind to a halt, firms would miss payrolls, and consumers could not buy homes. In this summer school, we will explore a variety of current research issues, including speculation, long-run risk, cryptocurrency, credit cycles, and macrofinance, among others.

Jaroslav Borovicka, New York University    
Darrell Duffie, Stanford Graduate School of Business
Ben Hebert, Stanford Graduate School of Business
Gur Huberman, Columbia Business School
Nobuhiro Kiyotaki, Princeton University
Peter Kondor, London School of Economics and Political Science
Ilan Kremer, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Yueran Ma, The University of Chicago
Yuliy Sannikov, Stanford Graduate School of Business
Jose Scheinkman, Columbia University
Vikrant Vig, London School of Economics and Political Science

Full Program > 

General Information >

Reimbursement Application Information >

Application Form

payment page >

Recorded Lectures >


Read Less