2019 Michael Bruno Memorial Awards Ceremony

Wed, 08/01/202016:30-19:00
See also: Events


Israel Institute for Advanced Studies cordially invites you to the Michael Bruno Memorial Awards Ceremony.

The ceremony will take place on Wednesday, January 8, 2020

16:30 Gathering and light refreshments
17:00 Ceremony
18:00 Reception



Yuval Feldman, Bar-Ilan University
Shulamit Levenberg, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Ehud Nakar, Tel Aviv University


The ceremony will take place at the Israel Institute for Advanced Studies (IIAS), Feldman Building, Room 130, The Hebrew University Edmond J. Safra Campus, Givat Ram, Jerusalem.


Please acknowledge your participation and let us know how many guests will be accompanying you, via our online form no later than December 15, 2019.


The Michael Bruno Memorial Award was initiated in 1999 in memory of Professor Michael Bruno, after his untimely death in 1996. Professor Bruno served as Governor of the Bank of Israel from 1986 – 1991, was awarded the Israel Prize for Economics and was Chair of the Board of the Rothschild Prizes Organization.

This prestigious award seeks to identify and honor three outstanding Israeli young scholars every year who symbolise not only the excellence of scholarship but who also possess the leadership that has the potential to impact on academic life in Israel, beyond their specific fields of research. Each laureate is expected to present a proposal that details how, in conjunction with the IIAS, they will continue to pursue new fields of research in order to fulfil their academic goals.

One characteristic of Bruno laureates is their ability to move creatively beyond their current fields of research, entering new avenues. It is this creativity which the IIAS seeks to embrace and support.