The 27th Advanced School in Life Sciences: Stem Cell Epigenetics

Sun, 27/03/2022 to Thu, 31/03/2022
life sciences

Stem Cell Epigenetics



Roger Kornberg (Stanford University)


Eran Meshorer (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Eitan Segev (EpiSyStem Manager, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Chromatin structure, regulation and plasticity dictate many of the nuclear processes, e.g. replication, transcription, cell cycle, protein dynamics, chromatin modifications, and more - all of which ultimately facilitate or repress changes in transcription, either locally or globally. Chromatin is the basic regulatory unit of life and the main scaffold for epigenetic regulation. As such, it controls developmental and functional states of all cells, including pluripotency and pluripotent stem cells. Differentiation of embryonic stem cells into specialized cells involves dramatic changes in gene expression patterns, tightly correlated with alterations in DNA and histone modification states and subsequent global changes in chromatin plasticity. In recent years, methods to study chromatin have dramatically improved and expanded to both single cells and genome-wide global approaches, allowing a systems-level understanding of epigenetic regulation. Here we bring together leading researchers to discuss recent topics on chromatin and epigenetic regulation in the context of stem cells and pluripotency, lineage choice, and more.

The last two days of the school, 30-31 March, will be held at the conference of the International Society for Stem Cell Research (ISSCR). Read more information about the conference here.


Application Form

Full Program

Deadline for applications: 15 March 2022



Geneviève Almouzni, Curie Institute
Dalit Ben Yosef, Tel Aviv Sourasky Medical Center
Yehudit Bergman, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Ramon Birnbaum, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Robert Blelloch, UC San Francisco
Gilles Brocart, Diagenode
Yossi Buganim, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Howard Cedar, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Tal Dvir, Tel Aviv University
Racheli Eiges, Shaare Zedek Hospital
Yaron Fuchs, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Roi Gazit, Ben Gurion University of the Negev
Nitzan Gonen, Bar-Ilan University
Magdalena Götz, Helmholtz Zentrum München
Anna-Katerina Hadjantonakis, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
Jacob Hanna, Weizmann Institute of Science
Arnold Kriegstein, UC San Francisco
Tsvee Lapidot, Weizmann Institute of Science
Shulamit Levenberg, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Yael Mandel-Gutfreund, Technion
Abed Manssour, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Alex Meissner, Max Planck Institute for Molecular Genetics
Doug Melton, Harvard Medical School
Charles Murry, University of Washington & Sana Biotechnology
Iftach Nachman, Tel Aviv University
Yaakov Nahmias, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Jovica Ninkovic, Helmholtz Zentrum München
Alexander van Oudenaarden, Hubrecht Institute
Jose Polo, Monash University
Kathrin Plath, UCLA
Oren Ram, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Benjamin Reubinoff, Hadassah Medical Center
Sharon Schlesinger, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Ruby Shalom-Feuerstein, Technion - Israel Institute of Technology
Efrat Shema, Weizmann Institute of Science
Yonatan Stelzer, Weizmann Institute of Science
Shani Stern, University of Haifa
Amos Tanay, Weizmann Institute of Science
Giuseppe Testa, University of Milan
Maria Elena Torres-Padilla, Helmholtz Zentrum München
Barbara Treutlein, ETH Zurich
Achia Urbach, Bar-Ilan University
Michiel Vermeulen, Radboud University
Jun Wu, UT Southwestern Medical Center
Omri Wurtzel, Tel Aviv University
Leonard Zon, Harvard Medical School


life sciences