Quantum Field Theory, String Theory and Beyond

Sun, 28/02/2016 to Thu, 03/03/2016
See also: Events, Conferences



Ofer Aharony (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Eliezer Rabinovici (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


The conference will cover all major research areas in quantum field theory and gravity, ranging from the analysis of specific field theories, in which precise computations can be performed, through string theory, the physics of black holes, and attempts to understand the basic structure of space and time, all the way to applications of physics in biology.

The main theme of the meeting is a celebration of the achievements of quantum field theory, and a discussion of its future directions, both as a highly effective tool to describe many different types of natural phenomena, and as a pathfinder in solving complex conceptual problems in physics which cannot yet be investigated experimentally.


Program >

Lecture Recordings >



Shmuel Elitzur (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Amit Giveon (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Nissan Itzhaki (Tel Aviv University)
Zohar Komargodski (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Moshe Moshe (Technion, Israel Institute of Technology)
Shimon Yankielowicz (Tel Aviv University)



Nima Arkani-Hamed (IAS Princeton)
Tom Banks (University of California, Santa Cruz)
Lars Bildsten (Kavli Institute For Theoretical Physics (KITP))
Edouard Brezin (LPTENS)
Lars Brink (Chalmers University of Technology)
Curtis Callan (Princeton University)
Nadav Drukker (King's College London)
Francois Englert (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
Rajesh Gopakumar (International Centre for Theoretical Sciences)
Daniel Harlow (Harvard University)
Sean Hartnoll (Stanford University)
Jeffrey Harvey (University of Chicago)
Marc Henneaux (Université Libre de Bruxelles)
Gary Horowitz (University of California at Santa Barbara)
John Iliopoulos (LPTENS)
Daniel Jafferis (Harvard University)
Igor Klebanov (Princeton University)
Zohar Komargodski (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Dieter Lust (LMU and MPI, Munich)
Shiraz Minwalla (TATA Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Nikita A. Nekrasov (Simons Center for Geometry and Physics, Stony Brook University)
Hirosi Ooguri (Caltech)
Kyriakos Papadodimas (CERN, Geneva)
Alexander Polyakov (Princeton University)
Eliezer Rabinovici (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Leonardo Rastelli (Yang Institute for Theoretical Physics, Stony Brook University)
Nathan Seiberg (Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton)
Mikhail Shifman (University of Minnesota)
Eva Silverstein (Stanford University)
Andrew Strominger (Harvard University)
Erik Verlinde (University of Amsterdam)
Spenta Wadia (TATA Institute of Fundamental Research, Mumbai)
Laurence Yaffe (University of Washington)