Stochastic Processes in the Cell Cycle

Mon, 13/06/2016 to Fri, 17/06/2016



Ariel Amir, Harvard University
Nathalie Q. Balaban, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Naama Barkai, Weizmann Institute of Science


Cells have to coordinate various ongoing processes: growth, division, DNA replication, protein production, etc. The tightly coupled coordination between these processes – the cell cycle – is essential for viability, yet the mechanisms and principles through which cells achieve this are not well understood. In particular, the coordination of the cell cycle has to be robust to the inevitable stochasticity present in biological environments, via internal feedback mechanisms. By measuring fluctuations and correlations, we may gain a better understanding of the regulatory mechanisms.


Program >



Uri Alon (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Ariel Amir (Harvard University)
Nathalie Q. Balaban (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Naama Barkai (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Naama Brenner (Technion Israel Institute of Technology)
Stas Burov (Bar-Ilan University)
Aaron Dinner (University of Chicago)
Avidor Eldar (Tel-Aviv University)
Johan Elf (Uppsala Universitet)
Ulrich Gerland (Techniche Universitat Munchen)
Terence Hwa (University of California, San Diego)
Ran Kafri (University of Toronto)
Roy Kishony (Technion, Israel Institute of Technology)
Bruno Martins (University of Cambridge)
Yigal Meir (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev)
Andrew Murray (Harvard University)
Mor Nitzan (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Johan Paulsson (Harvard University)
Sivan Pearl Mizrahi (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Parth Pratim Pandey (University of Delhi)
Rami Pugatch (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Lydia Robert (Université Pierre et Marie Curie [UPMC])
Boris Shraiman (University of California at Santa Barbara)
Itamar Simon (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Peter Swain (University of Edinburgh)
Benjamin Towbin (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Jonathan Turner (Stanford University)
Ady Vaknin (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Ned Wingreen (Princeton University)
Gilad Yaakov (Weizmann Institute of Science)
Arieh Zaritsky (Ben-Gurion University of the Negev)