Filter By Years:



Bryan L. Roth

Professor of Pharmacology
University of North Carolina Chapel Hill School of Medicine

Open Call for Individual Fellowships 2022-2023

Open Call for Individual Fellowships 2024-2025

Deadline: December 1, 2022 (midnight)

The IIAS invites scholars from Israel and abroad to submit proposals for an individual fellowship at the IIAS for the 2024-2025 academic year. Topics may cover any research area from any discipline and must seek to be innovative, with the potential to impact research in the field. Two or three scholars who collaborate on the same project should apply individually and state clearly that they wish to work together.

Read More

Fellows spend their residency at the IIAS, located at the Edmond J. Safra Givat Ram campus of The Hebrew University of Jerusalem. The IIAS provides fellows with a nurturing and stimulating academic environment, as well as administrative support. Fellows from abroad receive a generous fellowship and subsidized accommodation.

Our expectation is that the fellow’s residency will result in creative and original research that can be shared with the international research community.

Eligibility to Apply

Scholars may be from Israel or abroad and must have a tenured position with an academic research institution. 
Former fellows may apply for an individual fellowship once 10 years have elapsed from the end of their previous term by the beginning of the academic year of their fellowship. This fellowship is not open to postdoctoral researchers.

Period of Residence

The IIAS academic year runs from September 1 to June 30. Residencies are open for either 10 months or 5 months and the proposal should contain the requested period of residency according to the following options:

10-month residencies beginning September 1

5-month residencies beginning September 1 or February 7

Application and Notification Timeline

Applications are to be submitted online between September 1 - December 1 (midnight).

In the online form, the applicant is required to submit the following details:

  1. Personal information
  2. A list of 4 international experts in the candidate’s field and their contact information

In addition to the above, the applicant should provide the following documents:

  1. Letter of Intent (up to 1000 words): description of the project and justification
  2. Professional CV and a full list of publications

Incomplete applications will not be considered.

The deadline to submit applications is December 1, 2022 (midnight).

The IIAS will notifiy applicants of the IIAS Academic Committee’s decisions regarding the selected fellows by June 30, 2023.


Application Information >


Read Less
bruno icon

Open Call for the Michael Bruno Award 2022

Deadline: April 30, 2023  (midnight)

The Israel Institute for Advanced Studies (IIAS) hereby invites all full professors (current or emeriti) at Israeli research institutions to nominate candidates for the Michael Bruno Memorial Award for mid-career scholars in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Law.

Read More

The 2023 Michael Bruno Memorial Award

The Michael Bruno Memorial Award is granted annually to three outstanding mid-career Israeli scholars who have demonstrated an exceptional originality of mind, dedication and ground-breaking impact in their research, and who have managed to influence and re-shape their field of expertise. This award, a personal prize in an amount of 200,000 NIS, is the highest recognition of past accomplishments, but they are also a vote of confidence in the laureates’ future achievements and contributions to research and to Israeli academia.

As of 2022 the award alternates each year between STEM scholars and scholars in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Law. The 2023 award will be granted to scholars in the Humanities,Social Sciences and Law.



February 15, 2023         The submission platform will open for nominations

April 30, 2023                Deadline for submitting nominations 

November 30, 2023      Announcement of the 2023 Bruno Award laureates

January 2024                 Academic Symposium in collaboration with the laureates

Who can nominate Bruno candidates?

The nominator must be a full professor or professor emeritus from any Israeli research institution. Each nominator may nominate only one candidate. No self-nominations will be accepted. Candidates should not be informed of their nomination.


Candidate eligibility

Eligible candidates must be faculty members in the Humanities, Social Sciences and Law in Israeli research institutions who are under 50 years of age as of February 15, 2023.


Nomination process                              

The nomination deadline is April 30, 2023 and the form is to be submitted online.

The nomination form and all attached materials must be in English.

In the online form, the nominator is asked to enter the following details:

  1. The candidate’s personal information: full name, date of birth, affiliation
  2. Short description of your reasons for nominating the candidate (maximum 150 words)
  3. Description of your relationship to the candidate, including comments pertaining to any potential conflicts of interest
  4. A list of the candidate's three most important publications
  5. Indication of the h-index, if applicable
  6. A list of 4 international experts in the candidate’s field and their contact information.

In addition to the above, the nominator is required to provide the following documents (pdf format):

  1. The candidate’s professional CV and a full list of publications
  2. A letter written by the nominator recommending the candidate, and detailing the candidate’s impact on his/her research field and unique contributions
  3. A letter from an additional faculty member in Israel (need not be a full professor but must be from a different academic institution than the nominator)
  4. PDFs of the candidate’s three most important publications (indicated in the online form). If one of this publications is a book, one representative chapter from the book will suffice.

Incomplete applications will not be considered.


The selection process

The selection is carried out in two stages. At the first stage, the list of candidates will be narrowed to a shortlist. At the second stage, each candidate on the shortlist will be evaluated with the help of external referees.

The candidates are selected by an external selection committee of renowned scholars (3-5 people) in the relevant fields. The decision of the selection committee will then be passed to the approval of the IIAS Board of Directors, before being announced officially.

The selected laureates and their nominators will be personally informed. A general announcement will be sent to all nominators via email.

Questions may be directed to Ms. Or Baum, IIAS Secretary, at


Read Less