Advanced School


2022 life sciences school

The 28th Advanced School in Life Sciences: Novel roles for RNA in Biology and Therapy

Read More


23-27 October 2022



Roger Kornberg (Stanford University)



Ruth Sperling, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem


Research during recent decades has identified RNA molecules as key players in biology and medicine. Novel types of large and small RNAs, and novel roles for RNA molecules, not only as informational molecules, but also as enzymes and as regulators of gene expression, have emerged. RNA processing and alternative splicing, major contributors to proteome versatility, play crucial roles in cell identity and development.  RNA molecules serve as catalysts and as regulators of chromatin structure, gene expression at different levels, and protein function in diverse pathways. The involvement of RNA molecules in disease-related processes has led to RNA-mediated therapies. For example, manipulation of alternative splicing and gene expression by antisense RNAs enabled breakthroughs in the therapies of rare disease, and mRNA-based vaccines have played a crucial role in the fight against the COVID-19 pandemic. Many challenges lie ahead in deciphering the structure and function of RNA molecules and in the development of additional RNA-based therapies. The RNA School will bring together many of the scientists responsible for the important discoveries, and will support stimulating and fruitful discussions of the major topics.    

As part of the school, we will hold the Israeli RNA Society meeting in memory of Prof. Yossi Sperling on 26 October.




Gil Ast, Tel Aviv University
Maria Carmo-Fonseca, University of Lisbon
Chonghui Cheng, Baylor College of Medicine
Matthias W. Hentze, European Molecular Biology Laboratory
Eran Hornstein, Weizmann Institute of Science
Batsheva Kerem, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Adrian R. Krainer, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories
Erez Levanon, Bar-Ilan University
Reinhard Lührmann, Max-Planck-Institute for Biophysical Chemistry
Yael Mandel-Gutfreund, Technion
Hanah Margalit, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Lynne E. Maquat, University of Rochester Medical Center
Shulamit Michaeli, Bar-Ilan University
Gideon Rechavi, Sheba Medical Center & Tel Aviv University
Michal Shapira, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev
Yaron Shav-Tal, Bar-Ilan University
Noam Stern-Ginossar, Weizmann Institute of Science
Yehuda Tzfati, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem
Igor Ulitsky, Weizmann Institute of Science
Ada Yonath, Weizmann Institute of Science


Application Form

Israeli RNA Society Meeting


Read Less

Bert Sakmann

General Director - previous
Life Sciences
Max Planck Institute for Medical Research, Heidelberg


Kenneth Arrow

General Director - previous

Read More
Kenneth Arrow (1921–2017) was an American economist, mathematician, writer, and political theorist. He was the joint winner of the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences with John Hicks in 1972.

In economics, he was a major figure in post-World War II neo-classical economic theory. His most significant works are his contributions to social choice theory, notably "Arrow's impossibility theorem", and his work on general equilibrium analysis. He has also provided foundational work in many other areas of economics, including endogenous growth theory and the economics of information.
Prof. Arrow was the General Director of the Jerusalem School in Economic Theory at the IIAS from 1990-2007.

Photo by Linda A. Cicero / Stanford News Service

Read Less

Physics- Upcoming School: 2019-2020


The 37th Advanced School in Theoretical Physics: New Ideas for Old Puzzles in Particle Physics

Read More

Event date: December 29, 2019 - January 9, 2020 

General Director: David Gross (UCSB, KITP)

Nima Arkani-Hamed (The Institute for Advanced Study)
Yonit Hochberg (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)
Eric Kuflik (The Hebrew University of Jerusalem)


Program >

Lecture Recordings >


The field of particle physics is entering an exciting new era. While the need for new physics beyond the Standard Model is still compelling, the lack of observation of such signals challenges our preconceived notions of what the new physics should look like. It is time for fresh approaches to the longstanding puzzles of the field. A wide array of tools from a broad perspective must be used so that new physics is indeed properly searched for and eventually discovered. These new developments will be the focus of the school, whose series of lectures will start from basics and reach the cutting edge of issues and results. Topics will include: new ideas for dark matter theory and experiment, new solutions to the weak scale, precision measurements for fundamental physics, machine learning, advances in cosmology, and future tests of the Standard Model.



Nima Arkani-Hamed, The Institute for Advanced Study

Dmitry Budker, University of California Berkeley / Johannes Gutenberg University of Mainz

Timothy Cohen, University of Oregon

Rouven Essig, Stony Brook University

Yuval Grossman, Cornell University

Jared Kaplan, Johns Hopkins University

Ely Kovetz, Ben-Gurion University of the Negev

Matthew McCullough, CERN / University of Cambridge

Joshua Ruderman, New York University


General Information >

Reimbursement Application Information > (for speakers)

Application Form >

Lecture Readings >



Read Less

Moshe Vardi

General Director - current
Rice University

Moshe Y. Vardi is an Israeli mathematician and a computer scientist. He is the George Distinguished Service Professor in Computational Engineering at Rice University.

Read More
His interests focus on applications of logic to computer science, including database theory, finite-model theory, knowledge in multi-agent systems, computer-aided verification and reasoning, and teaching logic across the curriculum. He is an expert in model checking, constraint satisfaction and database theory, common knowledge (logic), and theoretical computer science.

He is the author and co-author of over 600 papers, as well as two books: Reasoning about Knowledge and Finite Model Theory and Its Applications. He is currently a Senior Editor of the Communications of the ACM, after having served for a decade as Editor-in-Chief.

Read Less

Peter Sarnak

IAS Princeton
IAS Princeton

Read More
Peter Sarnak is Professor of Mathematics at the Institute for Advanced Study, Princeton. He has made major contributions to number theory and to questions in analysis motivated by number theory. His interest in mathematics is wide-ranging, and his research focuses on the theory of zeta functions and automorphic forms with applications to number theory, combinatorics, and mathematical physics. His many awards include the Wolf Prize in Mathematics, the Lester Ford Prize, the American Mathematical Society Levi L. Conant Prize, the Frank Nelson Cole Prize, the Ostrowski Prize and the George Pólya Prize from the Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics.

Read Less